2015 Advanced Sports Chiropractic Runners' Pentathlon
Presented by Greater Philadelphia Track Club
              2015 Advanced Sports Chiropractic Runners' Pentathlon
                     Presented by the Greater Philadelphia Track Club

Was contested on Sunday August 30th, 2015 at 8:30am at Germantown Academy's Carey
Stadium & Athletic Complex, Fort Washington, PA 19034.  The competition was open to
all athletes 14-and-older.  The event was sanctioned by
USA Track & Field and officiated
by certified USATF officials.

The 2015 individual winner was
Mark Williams who amassed 420.47 age graded points.  
He was runner-up last year.  Peter Brady finished second with 417.65 points and Kevin
Forde was third with 408.46 points

The 2015 team competition was won by
SAC & Friends consisting of Brian Leung,
Matthew Wallack
and Nick Damalas with 422.16 age graded points.  Athena Track
Club, last year's champion, finished second.  Potomac Valley was third.

There is a link to the complete event results below.  Here is a link to photos by Donovan
https://www.flickr.com/photos/elflord1973/sets/72157655649412934 (copy & paste to your

Each runner competed in 5 track races (3000m – 200m – 1500m – 100m –
), with a minimum of 30 minutes recovery time between races.  Athletes
choose either the 400m or the 800m for their fifth event (400m and 800m heats
alternated). With an equal mix of sprints and distance events (order as above), this
challenging (but fun!) competition pitted sprinter against distance runner to determine the
best all-around track runner. Races were timed using the fully automatic Finish Lynx Timing
System. To ensure approximately the same recovery time between races for all
participants, runners were seeded in the same overall order for each race no matter the
distance, based on a blended seed time which gives equal weight to their most recent
Mile and 400m times.  
Due to the unique format of this meet, the field was limited to 54 runners. Cash awards
were 5-deep in the individual competition ($150, $125, $100, $75, $50). The top runner’s
name will be engraved on the perpetual Champions’ Trophy. Participants with college
eligibility were ineligible for cash awards. All runners received “Still Alive After Five”
certificates, title sponsor carry bags, and were eligible for random prizes. With age &
gender-graded scoring, there was no separate age group or gender awards. Awards
Ceremony followed the meet.

In addition to the Individual Competition, a separate Team Competition was run
In heats separate from those of the individual competitors, three-person
teams divided up the five events to determine the best all-around track team. One team
member per race and each team member entered at least one race. Teams were of any
age (14 y/o minimum) or gender.  Cash Awards went to the top three teams ($120, $75,
$60). The top team name and roster will be engraved on the perpetual Team Champions’
Trophy. All runners received “Still Alive After Five” certificates, title sponsor carry bags,
and were eligible for random prizes

SCORING was age-graded using the World Masters Association’s 2006 age/gender-
graded tables (the latest for single age track racing). Points were tabulated for each race
(the age/gender-graded percentage), and awards were based on the cumulative
percentages for the five races. For example: An age-graded percentage of 80% in each of
the five races = a total score of 400 points. This meet presented a rare opportunity for men
and women, young and old, to compete directly against each other on a level playing field.

SPONSORS  Title Sponsor Advanced Sports Chiropractic is a sports injury clinic focusing
on the treatment and prevention of injuries related to endurance sports. Using techniques
on the cutting edge of medical science, they have experience with IT band syndrome,
plantar fasciitis, hamstring injuries, runner's knee, Achilles injuries, bursitis and many other
conditions. Advanced Sports Chiropractic has treated runners of all ages and abilities,
including Catherine Ndereba, 4-time Boston Marathon Champion. The staff attend the
pentathlon to offer complimentary stretching, muscle/soft tissue work, chiropractic, injury
evaluations, etc. to the runners throughout the meet.

Results below.  Registration was by pre-entry only.  Contact Meet Director Kyle
Mecklenborg by
email or phone 215-393-1382 with questions.

2015 Event Documents:

Click to view the 2012 National Masters News article about the Greater
Philadelphia Runners' Pentathlon

GPTC Pentathlon 400+ Point Club Champions in Bold
Nick Berra 430.76 (2013) 429.60 (2014)
Kevin Forde 430.02  (2010)
417.50 (2014), 408.46 (2015)
Lorraine Jasper  428.12  (2013), 416.58 (2010), 414.87 (2012), 406.72 (2011), 403.77
Gary Patton 426.93  (2013)
Birger Ohlsson 424.53  (2013)
Mark Williams 420.47 (2015), 419.33 (2014), 418.62 (2013)
Joshua Smith  419.32 (2013)
Vicki Fox 419.11 (2014), 405.23 (2015)
Peter Brady 417.65 (2015), 416.81 (2014)
Bruce Rash 412.13  (2013), 410.95 (2011) 409.31(2014), 405.23 (2015)
Peter Churchman  408.24  (2010)
Brian Crowley  404.35  (2010)
Chuck Shields  400.81  (2012)
Christian Blondin 400.64 (2014)
Shown at left is Nick Berra, 2013 and
2014 Runners' Pentathlon champion with
meet director Kyle Mecklenborg
This file is not intended to be viewed directly using a web browser. To create a viewable file, use the Preview in Browser or Publish to Aabaco Web Hosting commands from within SiteBuilder.